J. Leland Atwood Award

The J. Leland Atwood Award, established in 1974, is bestowed annually upon an outstanding aerospace engineering educator in recognition of their contributions to the profession.  The award is endowed by Rockwell International and consists of a $2,000an honorarium and a certificate. In addition, the AIAA presents a suitably engraved medal and certificate at the annual AIAA Science and Technology Forum (SciTech).

Nominations may be made by any member of ASEE or AIAA. The call for nominations is issued in the fall of each year. The J. Leland Atwood Award cannot be granted to the currently serving J. Leland Atwood Award Committee member, or any previous J. Leland Atwood Award winner. The award, which may, or may not be made during any given year, is presented at the Annual ASEE Conference.

Award Recipients


Prof. John Sullivan
Purdue University, School of Aeronautics and Astronautics


Dr. Saeed Farokhi
The University of Kansas


Dr. Byron D Tapley
University of Texas at Austin


Dr. Azad M Madni
University of Southern California